The Estonian Institute of Human Rights will host its annual conference on December 8, 2017 in Tallinn, Estonia.

The Estonian Institute of Human Rights is the first independent human rights organisation in Estonia. It has been actively and systematically engaged in the protection of human rights since the re-independence of Estonia. Established on 10 December 1992, Human Rights Day, it was initiated by President of Estonia, Lennart Meri.

Our mission is the advancement of human rights studies and raising awareness of human rights and connected issues in Estonia and around the world. With our annual conferences, we strive to expand new views in the field of human rights, where cultural differences abound and value systems are different and often opposing. Our chosen subjects reflect important events happening in our global society.

This seventh annual high-level human rights conference is a unique event that brings experts from various fields with diverse backgrounds and differing views together under one roof with the common objective of ensuring enduring respect for human rights values. The conference will address a number of today’s most important topics – terrorism, technological development, security, small states in a globalising world, culture and international cooperation – through a human rights perspective. In an ever more critical global security environment we will take stock of the current state of freedom of speech, privacy and many other fundamental rights and ask ourselves, are human rights in freefall? Together we will contemplate ways to better protect the human rights of all people and everyone’s right to life.

Every year, our Annual Conference brings together over 300 people: activists, politicians, diplomats, government officials, journalists, analysts and experts from over thirty countries.

Among others, our conference has hosted Madeleine K. Albright, Mihhail Hodorkovski, Dominique Reynie, Ülle Madise, Vagn Joensen, Cuno Jakob Tarfusser, Richard Barrett, Dr Quirine Eijkman, Mustafa Qadri, Kalev H. Leetaru, Artjom Troitski, Stephen J. Rapp, Gentian Zyberi, Riina Kionka, Dunja Mijatovic, Thomas Zerdick, Malavika Jayaram, David Mothander , Douglas Davidson, Anja Mihr, Christopher McCrudden, Mustafa Džemilev, Marriët Schuurman, Galina Timtšenko, Dalee Sambo Doroug, Maria  Makejeva, Lauri Mälksoo, Dmitri Muratov and others.

The patron of the conference is The President of Estonia, Kersti Kaljulaid.